Black Dog Days

I seem to have been having a fair number of what could be called “Black Dog Days” lately and it bothers me….

For those of you who don’t know me personally, or even those who do but don’t necessarily know this, I have had issues with depression on and off for some time now. The worst period was approximately 8 years ago, where there was a time when I could barely get myself out of bed in the morning. As a consequence of this, I spent close to two years on anti-depressant medication.

Even now it’s not a time in my life I like to dwell on but eventually things did get better. There were a number of factors involved and I’m sure they all helped so I wouldn’t like to point to any single one as being responsible. But, as I’ve come to realise about several things in my life, it’s more of a journey than a single task. It’s more likely that it will be something I have to deal with for the rest of my life, rather than a single occasion which has since passed.

One good thing, if it can be called such, is that when I’ve had my “Black Dog Days” recently, it tends to present itself as tiredness, frustration and irritability rather than the crippling inertia that I experienced years ago. Also, I have a better support system and a much healthier life now. I think, I hope, that if I keep a close watch on myself, as well as being honest and open about what’s happening with me (which includes seeking professional help), I can avoid another situation like that one I had before.

 

One thought on “Black Dog Days

Leave a Reply

