Say what you want…

“You don’t write because you want to say something, you write because you have something to say.” – F. Scott Fitzgerald

So what is it that I have to say?

To a certain extent, I’m not sure that I have something specific that I want to say. The simple fact is that I like telling stories, and occasionally sharing them with others. Is that enough?

And what stories do I tell? Well, there’s the House Valerius series, obviously. It is the main subject of this blog after all. And, although I don’t necessarily want to label it, the description that comes easiest is urban fantasy. But while that may have been my main focus for the past decade or so (where the hell does the time go?), it’s not the only thing I’ve ever written.

In the past, I’ve dabbled in short stories with a variety of themes and genres. I tried some fan fiction. Well, I started some, not sure if I ever finished. My first attempt at a novel, which I started somewhere between high school and university, was a thriller. And more recently, I’ve had a couple of other ideas bubbling away; one a fantasy adventure, one science fiction.

So I guess even if I’m not sure what I want to say, I do like trying to say it in different ways.

Leave a Reply

