Something New

As I mentioned in my last post, my wife Britt recently challenged me to try writing a horror story.

Now I’ve read a number of horror books of various styles over the years, by a number of authors, but I’ve never tried writing an out and out horror myself. True, there are some sections that might qualify in House Valerius and A House Divided, not to mention that the whole notion of vampires could be considered a horror staple. But, I’ve always considered the House Valerius novels to be more urban fantasy than horror. Some of short stories might veer a little closer but still; not horror. My first attempt at a novel was a kind of serial killer murder mystery. Again, some parts that could belong in a horror story but I always felt it was more of a thriller. Well, that’s what I wanted it to be. And I don’t recall, not immediately, any of my older short stories having a very strong horror element.

Still, despite not having much of a track record, I’m enjoying working on this little horror piece. Perhaps a good part of that is that it is something new for me to try. So that, combined with our chosen deadline of two weeks (putting it just after the end of the month), has me thinking about perhaps accepting more challenges. I’ve already starting setting myself monthly goals, why not add in a little bit of competition with myself to try another genre I haven’t really tackled before? Maybe I can even solicit suggestions for what the next challenge will be.

Of course, I don’t expect everything to work. I’m not sure I’m cut out to write a romantic story. But that doesn’t mean I shouldn’t try. Growing means doing some heavy lifting, doesn’t it?

One thought on “Something New

Leave a Reply

