The New Normal

I said, somewhere, that June felt like a transitional month. And now, so does July. Although for different reasons.

In June, I’d just finished the 2nd draft on A House Divided and was trying to decide what my next project would be be. While I was working that out (and I’m not 100% sure I have), I thought I’d try my hand at some random-ish stuff, to see how what it brought to mind. This month, I’m trying to work out how best to keep things going…

Britt and I are in the process of launching a new business. Actually, the first online sale will be happening this evening, assuming that I get this posted today. Needless to say, this is going to involve a fair investment of the time that isn’t already occupied by my day job. Which means that it might cut into that time that I might otherwise have set aside to (trying to) write.

Now don’t get me wrong, I’m exciting about what we’re doing and the new opportunities this is going to give us. But it is terra incognita for both of us (maybe more so for me than for Britt). We’re not afraid of putting the work in. Well, maybe of the live online presentations but that’s why we’re throwing ourselves into that tonight.the truth is, like anything new, it’s going to take a little while to get into the swing of things and find what our new normal is going to be. And while we’re figuring that out, I may have to take some time out from the writing or at least accept that I might not get as much done as I would like.

I’m trying not to let this notion get me down, which I’ll admit isn’t always easy for me. Still, we’re determined to make this business work and it’s going to be worth it for us us.I’m determined to do what I can to keep at my writing and make my July goals. 

Most of the time anyway. Every so often, probably in the morning (I am NOT a morning person) I can see myself wondering why I’m even trying. It’s not easy to silence that evil little bastard when he starts in with stuff like that.

So here’s what I’m telling myself. I’ll do everything I can to get this new business rocking, and I’ll do everything I can to make time for me to write.   I don’t expect it to be easy, and I expect there will be moments when that inner voice will be difficult to shout down. But nothing worthwhile is ever easy, right?

Leave a Reply

