Non-advice to writers

Recently I’ve done a couple of posts about some writing techniques; free writing, plotting, etc. But I would like to make it clear, I am by no means someone to take advice from.

While I do consider myself to be a writer, there is no way I am qualified to be dispensing advice. When I’m talking about these things, it’s in the context of what is (or isn’t) working for me. It is not with any intention of saying, to anyone, “This is what you should be doing.” I barely know what I should be doing, as evidenced by other posts.

I’m not sure anyone can, or should, tell anyone else how they should write or what they should write. As far as I’m concerned writing is an intensely personal matter; subject to our moods, experiences and any other number of things unique to us. Anyone else will be telling you how they think and feel about things, which isn’t necessarily going to mesh with what you want to do. Sure, people can make suggestions and some of those may even be usable, but I don’t it extends much beyond that. They can’t tell you what is going to work for you.

On the other hand, I’m not saying you shouldn’t be willing to listen to what other people have to say either. I know I’ve taken suggestions which I think have helped me significantly. There’s a reason why I have a whole bunch of tweets marked with #drewsnotes.

What I am saying, or trying to say anyway, is that there is a certain way to present you views. If you are asked for advice, then make it clear it’s a suggestion, not a demand that it be done your way. If you’re asking for advice, then remember what you get is one person’s view and it may not be as useful as you hope.

 

Leave a Reply

