That Moment

I was on my way to work this morning and I got that moment. 

I’m not sure I could completely retrace my train of thought but I was thinking about about how to start off book 3. I never finished that thought because I remembered my goals for this month. I told myself I should be concentrating on finishing one of the current short stories, rather than starting a new piece. So I started thinking about which of the various things I’d written lately was the closest to an natural ending. I was thinking about one story in particular, when out of nowhere, I got an idea for it. One which would let me move beyond where I currently am with it to a possible ending.

All of which is a slightly convoluted (I do like that word) way of saying that story or plot ideas can come along at any time, without warning or expectation. I know I wasn’t particularly expecting anything, especially not on the way to work, but there it was none the less. I’m just glad I was able to hang on to it.

I’ve known a few times when something just suddenly clicks and a new plot line, character moment, or resolution just appears in my head. And a lot of those times have been when my thoughts are less than focused. There doesn’t seem to be any rhyme or reason to it.

I know that writing is a craft that needs to be practiced and worked at, preferably every day (see this month’s goals again). And I know that you can’t rely on these sudden moments to keep things going. Still, you have to love and appreciate those moments when they do come along.

Plus, it gave me the story idea and the impetus for this blog, so it was a two for the price of one deal.

Leave a Reply

