WIPjoy Finale

So I realize I’m repeating myself a bit here (and when was that something new?) but I wanted to do a complete run down of the list from #WIPjoy. And between the Halloween Horror Nights behind the scenes tour during the day and our and the event itself this evening, I didn’t think I’d have a lot of time for a regular post. Ih, and in case you were wondering, I do intend to do a full post about our Halloween adventures once we’re home and I can get the photos off the camera.

is the complete list

Anyways, here we go.

  1. House In Exile, 3rd in the House Valerius series, is an urban fantasy with people whose genetics make them the basis for vampires.
  2. Just starting. I’m in the plotting/planning stage but I have a few plot threads I know will be included.
  3. 5 verbs to describe House In Exile
    • Hiding
    • Surviving
    • Reuniting
    • Belongs
    • Betrayal
  4. Difficult to answer since I’m still planning the settings but for the ones I have
    • Fear & loss
    • Hope, resolve, belonging
    • Fear & loss
    • Hope, resolve, belonging
  5. When Elizabeth came back with some adults; they found me curled up next to Daniel, greedily sucking at the wounds on his arm.
  6. Things my antagonist loves:
    • Power
    • Control
    • His sense of righteousness
    • Blood
  7. Histories
    • Quinn Hendricks – a bounty hunter in the old West.
    • Joanna Mallory – from a ladies maid to the ruler of her own House.
  8. The senses
    • The smell of jasmine
    • The touch of her skin
    • The sound of her breathing
    • The sight of home
    • The taste of blood
  9. There are some parts of me that made it into the backstory, but tweaked just a little.
  10. It was the haunt of certain twenty-something Goths, the type my Uncle Marcus describes as ‘the frilly cuffs and collars crowd’.
  11. Ash: *sighs* “That so many of those loyal to me and my House have died. And that I haven’t done enough to protect those left.”
  12. Ash: “Elizabeth may really be my cousin, but I consider her my sister. I love her. I miss her but I want her to be safe more.”
  13. Ash: “My katana, ‘Saisei‘. Or it was, until it was taken when the Cabal imprisoned me.”
  14. Ash: “There hasn’t been much of that but just recently … *tails off* Never mind, I doubt I’ll see her again.”
  15. Ash: “Well, Drew and I… We do our best to help each other through some hard times. He can be very hard on himself though.”
  16. Ash: “It’s liable to be a long, hard road. But your support makes it easier to keep moving forward.”
  17. Ash: “I don’t look into mirrors much anymore.” *rubs at the scars on his face.*
  18. “We’re on our own here, kid. You can’t trust anyone no more.”
  19. I’m writing this story because I can, because I need to and because it makes me feel like me.
  20. Hopefully House Valerius will appeal to anyone looking for a mix of science, action and fantasy. And a different take on vampires.
  21. The biggest challenge? For right now, I’ll say doing a proper plot outline etc. Previously only ever had basic notes to guide me.
  22. This is the first image to come to mind. The photo is a still from Skyfall.
  23. Not sure I can claim it as unique but I think my genetic based vampirism comes closest.
  24. Outside, the air cut at my exposed skin, sharpened by the salt tang of the sea. I felt the spray, mist-like against my face.
  25. If it meant I’d have been able to talk with the man, one of Terry Pratchett’s Discworld books. It wouldn’t make any sense but..
  26. While there are many who’ve been very supportive, #housevalerius ‘ most encouraging fan has to be my wife, Britt.
  27. Of course there will be in-jokes.
  28. “You’re going to stay and they’re going to kill you.” The last part dissolved into a sob, but she bit it back, blinking furiously.
  29. Inspiring peoples.
  1. House In Exile is the 3rd in the House Valerius series, an urban fantasy about modern day genetic vampires.

I’m going to post this just now from my phone (we’re in the waiting area for Halloween Horror nights) but I’ll probably come back once we’re home to tidy it up a bit.

2 thoughts on “WIPjoy Finale

Leave a Reply

