A learning experience 

Or my November Goals review.

I gave myself three goals in November and I hit one of them. Before you ask, no, it wasn’t the big one.

The objective for NaNoWriMo was to write 50,000 words. I barely got half of that. I could beat myself up about that, which wouldn’t accomplish anything, or I could think about what I did get from it and apply that going forward.

Most days, I didn’t make the average daily goal. But I did do a hell of a lot more than I had been doing. So this has given me a better idea of what I can get down within the confines of my current schedule.

The main thing I learned (although I had some suspicions already) was that if I’m going to write to any kind of a deadline, I really need to have some kind of a plan.

For the NaNoWriMo project (much like books 1 & 2), I went in without a plan, hoping that I could make it up as I went along. And while that did work for books 1 & 2; each of those took years, not months.  If I want to be more productive, and I do, I need to plan accordingly. Which is something I plan to work on in December.

I also didn’t get any blog posts done after the first week. I had hoped that I’d be able to crank out a few but it just didn’t happen. Something else that I intend to remedy.

Anyway, to wrap this up, I’d like to thank everyone who encouraged me with my NaNoWriMo attempt and my heartfelt congratulations to those of you how did it. I guess I’ll have a better idea of what to expect and will do better next year.

December goals will be posted in a few days.

One thought on “A learning experience 

Leave a Reply

