2016, In Review

Given that we’re now in the last few days, I thought I’d have a look back at 2016; see what I’ve accomplished, what I haven’t; what I’m happy about, what I’m not.

This won’t solely be about the writing (just mostly) but since I’m only qualified to talk about how the year affected me, that’s what I’m going to stick to. And just in case you missed them the first time around, I’ll include some links to the appropriate posts.

First for the plus column (writing):

  • I (finally) got a first draft finished on A House Divided.
  • I increased my online profile, although I can’t take all the credit for that. Post
  • I became a reviewer, of sorts. Page
  • I started putting some work online. Page
  • I did NanoWriMo for the first time. Post
  • For the past few months, with the exception of November, I’ve managed to increase my posting to 3 times a week.
  • I became a beta reader, almost. Post
  • I did my first interview, sort of. Post
  • I got a Liebster nomination. Post

Non-writing positives:

  • I’ve been helping my wife, Britt, build up a new home business.
  • We had a great vacation in September. Post
  • I’ve met a lot of great new peoples online. Post

And now for the negatives (writing):

  • Despite what I did write, it still feels like I only accomplished a fraction of what I might have.
  • I only made it halfway through NaNoWriMo. Post
  • I still have a bunch of short stories to write. Page

Non-writing negatives:

  • I’ve had some emotional ups and downs. Post
  • Things have been pretty exhasting trying to juggle the new business and everything else. Post
  • I haven’t been treating myself very well lately.

And this seems to have turned into more of a list than I had intended it to.

All in all, 2016 was a pretty up and down year. There was plenty of good happened, enough that I think the overall balance came out positive, but there’s still a long way to go yet. Hopefully I’ll be able to take what I’ve learned and apply it in 2017.

Leave a Reply

