Favourite Fives

As I’ve said before I often take part in little Twitter games and prompts. One of the most recent was to name my five favourite male and female characters.

First were the ladies.

  • Nanny Ogg


I’ve been reading Terry Pratchett books since I was in high school and the witches books are some of my favourites. With her one-eyed sociopathic cat, cheerful demeanor and frequent double entendres, Nanny Ogg is usually the comic relief of the witch books. I’ve lost count of the laughs…

  • Karrin Murphy


For those of you who haven’t ready any of  Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files, Karrin Murphy is a Chicago PD Lieutenant. Placed in charge of the Special Investigations, where they dump the cases no one wants to acknowledge, she’s almost as integral to the series as the main character himself.

  • Leia

Need I say anything more?

  • Vivian Sternwood

I like noir films. I like femme fatales. And (in my mind, at least) Vivian Sternwood from The Big Sleep is the epitome. In a rare occurrence, I might say that the film version is even better than the book version, thanks to Lauren Bacall’s repartee with Humphrey Bogart.

  • Death


Not Bergman’s grim reaper but the cheerful goth from Neil Gaiman’s Sandman series.

And now the men.

  • Sam Vimes

As I said in my author confessions post, any man who uses baby dragons to light his cigars is okay by me.

  • Philip Marlowe

While I haven’t yet read all of Raymond Chandler’s Phillip Marlowe books; the ones I have, I’ve loved and read multiple times.

  • Gandalf


Well, I had to have a wizard in here somewhere.

  • The Doctor


I’ve watched Doctor Who since the 1980’s. I’ve read the Target novelisations. I’ve read some of the newer books written during the hiatus between the original and new series. And I’ve watched the new series.

  • Batman


Because he’s Batman.

Leave a Reply

