The Five P’s

I said something last week  in a random Twitter post that I should start planning my blog posts ahead of time. I’m now thinking that I spoke truer than I’d intended.

With the exception of NaNoWriMo in November, I’ve been fairly consistent in my blogging since I moved to the Monday-Wednesday-Friday schedule back in May/June last year. There have been a couple of little wobbles, usually along the lines of getting part way through a post then crashing as finishing it the morning after, but generally I’ve made it work.

What has been more frequent is me not having a clue what the evenings blog post is going to be about until 8 or 9 o’clock on the evening in question. While that does lend it a certain immediacy (or so I’d like to think), it does often leave me struggling for content and working beyond the point where I should be in bed. On the rare occasions where I’ve had posts ready ahead of time, it’s felt really rather liberating and given me a chance to focus on something else.

Another factor is the second business that Britt and I started last year. It involves at home/online sales and we generally have two online sales per week, which recently moved to Mondays and Fridays. You can see where I’m going here. Now I want to be a good and supportive husband and help out where I can (which almost certainly isn’t enough) so I’m thinking it will be for the best if I move my schedule around. That way, if I don’t have a post prepared ahead of time, at least I’m not trying to help with the sales and do a blog post in the same night.

I’m going to shift everything over a day, start posting Tuesday-Thursday-Saturday  and see how that goes for a while. I’m also going to do my best to prepare my posts ahead of time. Hopefully the combination of the two will free me up some.

One thought on “The Five P’s

Leave a Reply

