May Goals Review

Time for a look back at last month and how I got on.

I have to admit, I’m not very happy with the way May went, at least in terms of my writing. In fact, the phrase “epic fail” is the one that comes to mind.

Out of the six goals that I set for myself; at best, I can say that I accomplished two of them. Maybe not a complete grinding halt but 33% is hardly a passing grade. Especially when most of the one I missed, I really missed.

  • Write every day.

I didn’t even come close on this one. I started off reasonably well, although there were a few days where there was little more than a few sentences written. But during the last third, even that mostly petered out. I need to get my focus back.

  • Type up all my hand-written bits and pieces.

You’d think this one would have been easy enough. After all, it was just transcribing my notes and such. But somehow or other, possibly due to sheer bloody laziness on my part, it didn’t happen.

  • More reading & book reviews.

Ok, this one I did accomplish. I managed to read four books and write reviews on three of them.

  • Do another interview.

I even told myself that I should get this done and out of the way. Did I? No, I didn’t. Partly laziness again, partly timidity about asking people if I could interview them, even though I’ve already had people agree. I need to find a way of getting past that sort of silliness.

  • Post another short story.

I started a couple of short stories last month, mainly in response to some writing prompts. Haven’t finished them yet. I could probably have posted something already written. I’ve done that in the past. But again, it didn’t happen.

  • Try and spend some more time interacting with other writers online.

Admittedly, this one is a bit subjective but I do think I did better about my online presence than I did in April. So, I’m counting that one as a victory.

Like I said above, I need to get my focus back. What that means in terms of this month’s goals is something I’m going to be thinking about for the next day or two.

Leave a Reply

