August Goals

For most of the past week, various thoughts on what I was going to do for this month’s goals have been kicking around in the back of my head. And while I maybe haven’t decided to use all of those random notions, I have made a few choices.

July was a bit of an uneven month, what with my time away and then struggling to get back into the routine of real (if you want to call it that) life. As such, most of what I have planned for August is with a view to regaining some semblance of momentum and productivity.

Especially since November is suddenly not so far away. I’m intending to try NaNoWriMo again this year and I’d like to try improving my chances by not trying to go from a standing start to a dead sprint.

So, for August, I have the following in mind:

  • Write every day.

Not a new idea but one that I have to get back to if I plan to take 50,000 words in November. I’m not setting myself a specific number of words per day at this point; just some words, every day.

  • Have some online interaction with other writers every day. 

It’s something I always miss when I don’t do this and it usually something that I find encouraging as well. Whether it ‘s through one of the daily Twitter games I’m doing, a writing hashtag or just a random post, I want to make sure I’m about somewhere.

  • Get back to a consistent blogging schedule.

My posts have been a bit slap dash lately, sometimes being two or three days late. Ironically enough, I’m writing this one up a day later than originally intended. So, I want to get this more on track, ideally with some pre-planning.

  • Post a new short story.

Emphasis on the word new there. I could post something already written but I want to try and write something brand new to post this month. I’m trying to think of it as practice.

  • Write two book reviews.

Because. Well, just because.

  • Complete some actual chapters (three minimum) of House in Exile.

As I mentioned in a post last week, the majority of material I’ve written for House in Exile is still fragmentary. So I want to start getting that organised so that I have a chance of having a complete 1st draft come 2018.

I think I’ll leave it there for the moment. There are other things I would also like to accomplish but, at least for this month, I’m going to limit myself to what I think should be the priorities.

And of course, I have Bubonicon 49 the last weekend of the month, so watch out for my posts on the activities there.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

